I’ve gotten quite a bit done on my harbor puzzle, and surprisingly the pieces to the puzzle of why TNC is so interested in the Maine woods have fallen into place as well. There are a few pieces still missing, and a couple do not fit where I thought they would, but the picture still depicts an interesting scene. And it’s pretty easy to tell what the real story is b y looking at the picture.

There is another piece that has appeared in the picture, but I am not going to introduce it quite yet. It’s actually the piece that brought everything into focus for me. I mentioned that I was going to begin laying out my case, and I will. I believe it will be a roundabout type of explanation,so you’ll have to follow along closely.

Let me begin by saying “shame on you!” to the Maine media outlets for not reporting the truth as it should be, but by advertising or promoting a secret agenda, benefitting their bottom line instead of benefitting their readers. I’m not saying that kickbacks were involved to hide the truth here, I’m saying that instead of reporting news in an objective manner, the writers and editors merely wrote stories that suggested opinions, rather than simply presenting facts. Presentation of facts is what a newspaper or television writer is supposed to do for the news. Opinions should be left for the editorial page and the blogging industry.

As I researched ever deeper into the background of Plum Creek and their relationship with TNC, I found a surprising number of connections to many different pieces. I also discovered that TNC wasn’t doing Maine any favors by partnering with Plum Creek. But even more impressive was the fact that the concept plan wasn’t theirs. It was produced by The Nature Conservancy. Why? I’ll get to the reason later on down the road. If I tell you now, you won’t believe me.

As I crossed the United States, reading articles and editorials about Plum Creek, I started looking at other REITs to see how they compared in the way they conducted business. I felt it would only be fair. If Plum Creek was going to be painted in a bad light,there should be evidence that they deserve it.But I found that Plum Creek wasn’t any worse in the way they operated than many other companies in the timber and land industry. Maine wasn’t an exception to the rule.This pretend attempt to conserve habitat is not unique to Maine. They have been “cooperating” with various governments for quite a while by agreeing to easements and controls over the way they conduct their affairs. And Plum Creek isn’t the only REIT to conduct their affairs this way. Most major companies follow the same formula. And that formula always includes The Nature Conservancy as the base ingredient.

Almost all of the documentation has similar wording, almost as if the same writer was preparing all of the contracts. And they all work the same way. A timber (REIT) company wants to develop some land because they can make more than they can by harvesting timber. Mostly because the land has been clearcut and severely damaged by excessive logging. They know they will have a difficult, if not impossible task in doing so. But the sale or lease value of the land is greater than the potential income from reforesting the land, so the cost is acceptable. Along comes TNC, with their worldwide web of attorneys, marketers and spin doctors, and they come up with a plan to “conserve” the land in question. Since the general public feels that TNC is above reproach, everybody feels good doing business with them.After all, they are the folks trying to save the planet from destruction,right?

But what is TNC?Well, simply put,it claims to be an environmental activist volunteer group.But in reality, what they are is a non profit company with billions of dollars of assets, and they operate with a global agenda in mind.Through extensive research,I have come to presume that they buy,sell,trade and barter bits and pieces of land across the country with the intent of preserving habitat that is endagered or threatened,or has a resident that fits the same classification.But what they appear to be doing is trading off threatened habitat in exchange for other lands in an attempt to create large contiguous swaths of land that they can ultimately control.

Why they wish to sacrifice some habitat in order to protect/preserve other land that may not be threatened is a question I seek to answer.In the coming weeks I will be reporting on the various items I have stumbled upon, and why I believe the real danger to Maine is not Plum Creek Timber, but The Nature Conservancy.I have accumulated thousands of bits of data that support what I will be reporting on, so no,I am not some sort of conspiracy theorist. Stay tuned,and in the words of the great Mulder, the truth is out there.
Leave a Reply

