Maine Candidates part IV

Posted: 24/05/2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,
With the June primaries right around the corner I thought I’d start to take a look at what we’ve got to pick from for candidates. I’ll start out with the Senate race and work my way down. As far as the Presidential goes, I believe I’ll be voting for John McCain. On 21 May I started to list my reasons for supporting or not supporting each of these candidates.

Here’s the Maine Senate race card;

Susan Collins (R) Incumbent presented on 21 May ‘08

Tom Allen (D) Congressman, Ex-Portland Mayor & Attorney presented on 22 May ‘08

Tom Ledue (D) Educator presented 23 May ‘08

Laurie Dobson (Independent) Landscape Contractor, Ex-Journalist & Peace Activist

Herb Hoffman (Independent) Retired Psychologist, Army Veteran & Peace Activist

Dexter Kamilewicz (Independent) Realtor, Peace Activist & ’06 Congressional Candidate

Bill Slavick (Independent) Peace Activist, Retired Journalist, Army Veteran & ’06 Candidate

Laurie Dobson
Darling Dobson turns out to be a no brainer, in more ways than one. My choice? Absolutely not! In no way and in no how would I support Laurie Dobson as a candidate. Normally what I do is check out the candidates websites and/or print ads. I haven’t turned a TV on to a regular channel for about five weeks now, so TV ads don’t tell me a thing. I watched a few old DVD’s though. Love those old B&W Sci-Fi and thriller flicks. I went to her campaign site and didn’t even bother going through the whole thing.

Her campaign seems to be more of an exercise in Bush and Cheney bashing, or Susan Collins, or Tom Allen, or anybody else that doesn’t agree with her screwed up political philosophy. Bottom line is, I just do not like people who operate the way she does. When I enter into a discussion on any issue, I expect to be able to act in a constructive manner, and I expect anybody else involved to behave the same way. Laurie is an incredibly divisive, negative and destructive contribution to any discussion she has been a party to.

The other day I posted an entry on Susan Collins, just as I intend to do for every other candidate. I was honest from the get go. I wholeheartedly and enthusiastically support her in her bid for re-election. And I stated my reasons. Whether anyone else agrees or not matters little to me. I have a belief, and I intend to stand behind it. That’s the one thing in Dobson’s favor that I could find. She stands behind what she believes. Unfortunately for Laurie, I and probably an incredibly huge majority of the voters in Maine don’t follow her beliefs. She’s just plain wrong. So the first sign that I wasn’t going to be able to support her was the comment she made on the post for Susan Collins. Rather than bore you with a description, read Laurie’s own words;

Hi, Dan,
Thanks for mentioning our campaign on your blog. I’ve also won awards for work on environmental projects for habitat restoration and school, neighborhood and town planning. I’m a landscape designer and planner, and have also done installations, so contractor is also correct.
Hope we can talk sometime. There are real issues with voting for Susan this time around, not to mention the fact that she promised a two term run, and I have two letters from her saying so. Other things as well, pretty bothersome issues and concerns to Mainers, including me and many of the people I have spoken with.
Laurie Dobson 207-216-2303

So here she is stepping into somebody else’s spotlight to try and hog the attention, all the while patting herself on the back while deftly trying to stab the star in the back. Great political move Laurie. But that was just one thing, and if it were only that, I might have had better things to say about her, but I dug into the news archives and some other websites.

According to a Politicker article by Wally Edge, as of 16 May ’08, less than thirty days from Primary day, she still hadn’t collected the 4,000 signatures necessary to appear on the ballots. How come? Wally goes on to say that Dobson was also found to be staging a sit-in in the lobby of the office building in Portland where Collins has an office. At 2 AM. Really.

Another Politicker article by Jessica Alaimos on 03 May ’08, she had to be removed by the Augusta PD from the GOP convention. For some odd reason, Laurie, a self avowed “Independent Democrat” thought she should be able to have the floor at a Republican convention. Those kind of tactics ought to work really well in DC, hadn’t they? She also was removed from The Ground Round where she interrupted a speech Collins was giving to some local firefighters.

Another report from last year in the 23 March ’07 issue of the Seacoast Online reported that a hearing ended with no result in a discussion to have Dobson removed from the planning board. According to the article Laurie was obstructive and served as an impediment to proceedings in the boards meetings. They were discussing whether or not to remove her from the Kennebunkport committee. Sounds like just what we need down in the US Capitol.

But it turns out the icing on the cake is her involvement with something called the Kennebunk Warning. Apparently she(Dobson) and some others seem to feel as though Cheney is planning some kind of maneuver to drive the US into war with Iran, possibly nuclear. I won’t go into details as there isn’t enough space to even come close to doing justice, but check it out at http://actindependent.org/. Apparently Dobson and some other peacenik protesters picketed the Bush compound in Kennebunkport and presented a document with their allegations.

Here’s the first paragraph;

Massive evidence* has come to our attention which shows that the backers, controllers, and allies of Vice President Dick Cheney are determined to orchestrate and manufacture a new 9/11 terror incident, and/or a new Gulf of Tonkin war provocation over the coming weeks and months. Such events would be used by the Bush administration as a pretext for launching an aggressive war against Iran, quite possibly with nuclear weapons, and for imposing a regime of martial law here in the United States.

I’ll leave it up to you to decide who you support, but as for me and my vote on Laurie Dobson, no way, no how, not ever! She has a strong will, and overflows with her passion on the issues she believes in. It’s too bad she has to waste her abilities on actions that will cause great ruin to what could have been a great candidate. Sorry Laurie, but I vote no in your case.

Isaiah 9:15-17 (King James Version)

15 The ancient and honourable, he is the head; and the prophet that teacheth lies, he is the tail.

16 For the leaders of this people cause them to err; and they that are led of them are destroyed.

17 Therefore the LORD shall have no joy in their young men, neither shall have mercy on their fatherless and widows: for every one is an hypocrite and an evildoer, and every mouth speaketh folly. For all this his anger is not turned away, but his hand is stretched out still.

Leave a Reply

